The Bredlow Family Blog

Yeah, we really are this crazy.

Why is it raining in the kitchen? April 28, 2010

Filed under: Totally Random Stuff — bredlowfamily @ 1:13 pm
Tags: , , ,

So have you ever had one of those days that just seemed endless?

It’s ten to one and I’ve been up since seven; with no end in site.  Ugh.  The great news is Cori, Josh, and Callie are here and we are having a great time.  The bad news is that it’s raining in the kitchen.

Those of you that know me know that I do in fact live in a house. . with a roof. . over the kitchen.  How is it possible then that it is raining in the kitchen?  To really understand this I need to rewind to much earlier in the day when Trey and I were upstairs, yes, above the kitchen.

I was putting their laundry away and he was in the bathroom (oh my gosh, another bathroom story).  He stuck his head out the door and said, “Mom, this toilet won’t flush. I think it’s clogged.”  Oh yes, my favorite activity. . plunging toilets!  The best part of this was that Trey hadn’t used the bathroom yet, he was sent in there to make the constant running noise stop (every once in a while the toilet likes to just run and run and run and run. .).  Even better is that his Aunt Cori had just used it; hence the constant running toilet.  These things don’t just start on their own you know.

I told him I’d take care of it and we went about doing other things.  And yes, I totally forgot about the toilet being clogged.
Fast forward several hours to the three B’s (bath, beating, and bed) 😉 and you can see where this could pose a problem.  The first kid sent to the shower was Trey.  A few minutes later he calls downstairs “this toilet is clogged again!”  Again?. . yeah about that. .. he meant still. . . I did look into it earlier and it looked like a perfectly usable toilet so on the bright side, there were no nasties hanging out in there.  Perhaps that is why I forgot about it?

The rest of us were on the couch in the family room when we heard Trey’s announcement.  Since it was bath time Bruce went to investigate.  As he walked away I yelled to him “Take the plunger!”

Cori, Josh, and I go back to chatting and relaxing.  I get up to go switch a load of laundry in the laundry room.  As I stand in front of the washer I hear the unmistakable sound of water gushing like the geysers at Yellowstone.  I stick my head out of the laundry room and into the kitchen in time to see water flowing like Niagara Falls out of the kitchen ceiling and onto the counter.  Oh my gosh. . I grab the closest thing that can hold water. . a Pampered Chef stone!!  Then I scream “BRUCE!!!!”  while reaching for the mop bucket and garbage can.  I put the trash can under the now dripping ceiling and the mop bucket under the gusher that has nicely slowed to a more manageable trickle.

Josh comes into the kitchen to help me and I must apologize now if I said a bunch of words that offended him.

blah, blah, blah, blah, blah I get the kitchen bleached. . twice (and the bathroom) and it does stop raining in the kitchen.  Turns out they flushed the toilet upstairs to verify the so claimed “clog” and in doing so overflowed the toilet.  I told you, earlier it looked like a normal ready for use toilet. . .but it still needed a good plunge.

Yes, now I know what those water marks on the kitchen ceiling and the hole in the ceiling above the stove were from.  Turns out we’re not the only ones that find it necessary to water the counters.

 

One Response to “Why is it raining in the kitchen?”

  1. Jess Says:

    Ooookkkayy. Not really much I can say to this story except I think one of your children should become a plumber.

    Like


Leave a Reply

