The Bredlow Family Blog

Yeah, we really are this crazy.

Travel Ramblings August 22, 2011

Filed under: Travel Ramblings — bredlowfamily @ 5:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

I really enjoy getting out and about and seeing the world around me.  Truth be told, I absolutely hate just sitting around and wasting a perfectly good day doing nothing.  Blah, blah, blah….I know everyone needs some down time now and again but here is how I see it.  God gave us this beautiful spinning mass we call Earth and He gave us the “limited time only” clause when He plopped us on it.  So get up off your big ‘ole backside and go see it while you can.  Well, that and I tend to fall asleep when I sit around…see, He gave me extra motivation to go out and enjoy life!

So I’ve decided to blog about some of the great things I’ve seen, done, experienced, endured, etc.  I’ll include pictures, directions, pros, cons, tips, or whatever I feel like including when I blog (kind of like a free for all or a grab bag….you just never know what you’re going to get).  That way, if you want to get out and explore the world around you – you’ll know how to get there (or not, I do get lost occasionally)!

Here’s the bottom line:  We are on a beautiful island surrounded by some of the most amazing coral reefs in the world.  If we just sat in our concrete bunkers all day commiserating about how unbearably hot and intolerably humid it is outside, or how long it takes to drive 60 kilometers because you can only go 80 kph (roughly 48 mph and the one and only road on the island that allows you to drive that fast) on the expressway that is no longer free, and when you factor in the dollar to yen conversion rate, now costs more than childbirth does….I can see why some folks might never leave the comforts of their prison like existence on one of our fine U.S. Military Bases (of which I do love, this is in no way a dis on them).

Honestly folks, what a waste of perfectly good tax dollars.  And, as a tax payer myself, the last thing I want is to waste money.   If you won’t get out and explore the world around you for your own well-being, than do it for your country.  Nobody wants to see tax dollars wasted, nobody.  So I guess, in essence, it is your patriotic duty as a U.S. Citizen to go out and enjoy the world around you.  Our country needs you!

So, in an effort to help you do your civic duty as an American….I will blog.  It’s the least I can do.

Living vicariously through me is not an option, nor is it a way of life…that might land you in some sort of asylum…….

 

Leave a Reply

