The Bredlow Family Blog

Yeah, we really are this crazy.

A Christmas ditty December 18, 2011

Filed under: My Life as an Army Wife — bredlowfamily @ 9:47 pm
Tags: ,

It’s official: Christmas vacation has started for the children on Okinawa (well, the kids in Department of Defense schools that is).   It’s only a few days in, two to be exact, and already the kids are doing me in.  So, in honor of that all time hit “The 12 Days of Christmas,” I’ve coined my own one hit wonder (to the same tune of course).  My rendition is titled: “The 12 Hours of Christmas Vacation.”  🙂

♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

In the first hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

a football in a Christmas tree.

That football does NOT belong there!

In the second hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

This is the "after" picture

In the third hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

In the fourth hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

In the fifth hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

Why on earth did my grandmother send me so many pieces to this years chain?!

In the sixth hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

six well deserved spankings,

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

In the seventh hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

seven (dozen) fist fights,

six well deserved spankings,

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

In the eighth hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

eight possible ER visits,

seven (dozen) fist fights,

six well deserved spankings,

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

In the ninth hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

nine Nerf gun battles,

eight possible ER visits,

seven (dozen) fist fights,

six well deserved spankings,

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

In the tenth hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

ten quality Christmas packages,

nine Nerf gun battles,

eight possible ER visits,

seven (dozen) fist fights,

six well deserved spankings,

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

Those brown bags.....bought in the elementary school store with minimal adult supervision. Oh yeah baby!!

In the eleventh hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

eleven soldiers defending,

ten quality Christmas packages,

nine Nerf gun battles,

eight possible ER visits,

seven (dozen) fist fights,

six well deserved spankings,

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree.

My dining room is very well protected!

In the twelfth hour of Christmas vacation

my progeny gave to me

twelve empty wine bottles (hiccup),

eleven soldiers defending,

ten quality Christmas packages,

nine Nerf gun battles,

eight possible ER visits,

seven (dozen) fist fights,

six well deserved spankings,

five tacky Christmas chains,

four screaming arguments,

three piles of dirty laundry,

two messy bunk beds,

and a football in a Christmas tree!

I'm gonna be mad by the time this break is over!

♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫  ♪  ♫

Good luck to you as you endure your Christmas vacation.  We’re just hoping to make it through ours in one piece!  😉

 

Leave a Reply

