The Bredlow Family Blog

Yeah, we really are this crazy.

The Lazy Blog January 24, 2012

Filed under: My Life as an Army Wife — bredlowfamily @ 12:49 am
Tags: , , ,

This is what being lazy looks like in  blog land (being super lazy would have me pushing publish after that statement.).  A few weeks ago I guest blogged on my girlfriends blog.  This is that blog post (copying and pasting is quite lazy in terms of blogging).  Happy reading!  Enjoy knowing it will take you longer to read this post than it did for me to actually write this post.  🙂

Running Has Taught Me…

January 11, 2012 By There She Goes

After having my debut on the Another Mother Runner blog and thoroughly enjoying the experience of getting to talk about my love of running – I wanted to extend that to the women I run with. This week I would like to introduce to you a fellow runner and an extremely funny, motivational, and most definitely inspirational woman, Heidi Bredlow, as she tells us what running has taught her! 

I first met Heidi through WOOP and since we have collaborated together on many projects for the group! Thank you so much Heidi for always showing up, replying to all my needy emails, and for making me laugh so darn much! Take it away…

Confessions of a Narcoleptic:

Running ain’t easy folks!

This outfit is all about Heidi's personality!

It’s black.  Pitch black.  And silent.  I hear the occasional chirp of the geckos outside; at least I think they are outside.  Suddenly, breaking through the silence like a freight train in the night is the cry of my alarm clock.  This is the first alarm to annoy me of the twelve I set, not counting the snooze button.  Seriously.  One thing running hasn’t taught me is that I hate mornings.  That, my friends, is something I already knew.  The hardest part of running for me isn’t getting out the front door; it’s getting out of bed.

I love running.  I love feeling the ground beneath my feet while everyone else is sound asleep.  I love how much better I feel throughout the rest of the day after a morning run.  I love feeling the cool water from a puddle seep through my Vibrams on a hot day.  I love being outside along the seawall when the sun is starting to rise.  The moon, the water, the sky, and the sun all come together in a perfectly choreographed symphony in those few moments, and I thank God that I was actually up to see it!  It takes my breath away each time; or, is that because I’ve already been running?

I may not be great and I may not be fast; but I am a runner and I love running.  Even knowing all that, the fact of the matter is that in order to reap the benefits of running, I actually have to get out and run.  I look at where I’ve been and where I want to be and I’m devastated.  It really is depressing when you think about it: I could be so much better than I am if I wasn’t so darn lazy!  The bottom line is that the only thing stopping me from achieving my goals is me.  What a downer!!

She stayed all 24hrs for the WOOP team at the KSO Jog-a-Thon and logged over 30 miles!

So, what has running taught me about myself (aside from that whole being lazy and missing goals thing)?  After much thought and contemplation (and about a million naps) I’ve put together a list of some of the things running has taught me.  There are certainly many more things than what I’m going to list here; however, for the sake of blog length I’ll keep it to about ten or so lessons.  Here they are in no particular order:

  • Running has taught me that the best way to motivate myself is to register for a race.
  • Running has taught me that I am my own worst enemy.  I’ve got a wicked case of Narcolepsy and no matter what I do to compensate for the joys of being Narcoleptic, I simply cannot beat it.  Mind over matter?  In my case it doesn’t matter.  Sleep wins nearly every time.  I hate losing to myself.
  • Running has taught me that I look pretty good in a tutu and a hot pink feather boa.
  • Running has reassured me of my insanity.  What was I smoking when I registered for the Naha Marathon?!  Due to point 2 above, I am simply not prepared for the task and would be foolish to attempt it.
  • Running has taught me that watching my figure keeps Bruce watching my figure.
  • Running has taught me that I really do “hit the ground running.”  And I have the scars to prove it (and a few bruises).  ☺
  • Running, like life, is much easier when someone is cheering you on.  The WOOP and WOOT ladies keep me going.  You are my motivation and cheering section!
  • Running has taught me that not all pain is gain; and that I don’t sweat – I glisten.  ☺
  • Running has taught me that the best way to get things done is to put one foot in front of the other, and repeat.  Sometimes faster than others.
  • Running has reminded me that I love expressing myself in my shoe and clothing selections.  As an adult I have to take some responsibility for the way I dress (a total downer regarding growing up); but I can rock a pair of Vibrams, compression sleeves, and a skirt no matter what the color combination.  And I’m ok with that.
  • Running has taught me that there are a lot of people out there who will tell you that you can’t do this, go that distance, or train for that race.  What you’ve got to do is turn around, look them in the eye and say “watch me.”
  • Running has taught me that bugs really do taste nasty.

And lastly:

  •      Running in Okinawa has taught me that running on snails is a lot like walking on egg shells: crunchy and slippery.

I could go on forever.

What I really want to know is what has running taught you?

Just gorgeous! Heidi, Thank You for sharing and letting me use this awesome photo!

You can catch more of Sarah’s great blog at There She Goes…Running in Okinawa!  Click on the link to check her out!

 

One Response to “The Lazy Blog”

  1. carolyncares Says:

    Love it, Heidi! Thanks for the lazy blog…otherwise we would not have had the pleasure of reading it!

    Like


Leave a Reply

