The Bredlow Family Blog

Yeah, we really are this crazy.

Broccoli Alfredo February 20, 2013

Filed under: My Life as an Army Wife — bredlowfamily @ 9:08 am
Tags: , , ,

I’m trying to get a handle on the gluten-free thing and as a result, the kids have become my unwilling guinea pigs as I try a myriad of new recipes.  Every recipe I’ve tried from the Wheat Belly Cookbook has been a success.  Every recipe.  That’s unheard of, but true.  Obviously I’m not making the ones that I wouldn’t normally eat, like the fish ones.  Here is their recipe for Fettuccine Alfredo….I modified it, as you can tell by my recipe title.

Broccoli Alfredo (the kids complained when they saw the broccoli on their plates, yet proceeded to eat every last bit of it)

Noodles of your choice (I used Gluten Free Spaghetti as it was the only thing I could find here)

4 tablespoons butter

1 clove garlic, minced (use the fresh stuff, not the canned pre-smashed crap)

3/4 cup heavy cream

3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup grated Pecorino Romano cheese (I hand grated it)

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

14 teaspoon ground black pepper

pinch of red pepper (optional and I omitted it)

1 tablespoon freshly minced parsley (I omitted this too)

1/2 cup fresh steamed broccoli (I added this to the recipe)

Cook your noodles, drain them, and set them aside.

To save dish cleanup….use the pan you cooked your noodles in for the rest of the meal prep.

On low heat cook the butter and garlic for about 2 minutes.  The garlic should become nice and fragrant.  Mmmm…garlic!  Then, add the cream, cheeses, salt, and peppers.  Cook and stir on low heat for 3-5 minutes or until the cheese is melted and it is heated through.  Should smell like the Olive Garden at this point in your kitchen.  Dump your drained noodles into the cheese and stir together.  Dump the drained freshly steamed broccoli into the mix and stir it up again.

Turn off the burners and dish it up.

All three of the kids complained…and all three of the kids cleared their plates.

Trey said: “I like broccoli, but when I saw it in this I didn’t.  But then I ate it and I liked it again. Yum!”

Trygg said: “I guess I do like broccoli.”

Tyler said: “It’s ok.”

What a total brat that kid is.  This is the kid that will ONLY eat Fettuccine Alfredo from the Olive Garden. Nothing else, ever.  So, I had to know……. “Hey Tyler,” I said.  “Is the Olive Garden’s better or mine?”

God bless the little saint, he said: “Yours is way better.”

After the angels were done singing and the heavens closed in the ceiling above us I made them do the dishes.  No free loaders in this house, and saying I’m a better cook than the Olive Garden, while true, won’t buy you freedom.

Here are the per serving details without the broccoli (recipe serves 4): 350 calories, 9 grams protein, 8 grams carbohydrates, 34 grams total fat, 22 grams saturated fat, 5 grams fiber, and 590 mg sodium.  Keep in mind, this is a GLUTEN FREE recipe.

 

One Response to “Broccoli Alfredo”

  1. Jessica Sorensen Says:

    Yum, I could clean up that plate too! 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

